Style Transformation From Maxi Dress to High-Waisted Skirt

Styling Forever 21 Plus Size Floral Maxi Dress into a Maxi Skirt

Versatility is the main objective on my mind when I shop for new pieces. As I move around contemplating on a purchase, a million and one ways cross my mind on how I can get the most wear out of an item. If that’s the case, it comes home with me.

Forever 21 Plus Size Floral Maxi Skirt

Plus Size Latina Blogger Styling Floral Maxi Skirt

Easy and Simple Layering with a Floral Maxi Skirt

Forever 21 Plus Size Floral Dress Transformed to a Maxi Skirt

Plus Size Latina Blogger Layers Black Cami and Mesh Long Sleeve Top

Styling Black Leggings and Fishnet Socks with H&M Sandal Heels

Plus Size Layering Style feat. Forever 21 Floral Maxi Dress

Latina Plus Size Style Blogger

| SHOP THE LOOK |

Forever 21+ maxi dress | Sejour leggings | Forever21+ mesh long sleeve (similar) | Charter Club cami | ASOS heels | H&M socks (similar)

Maxi dresses can be styled in so many ways, especially when incorporating other pieces to layer with. Remember this lovely floral print? Let me refresh your memory (or if you’re new have a look) — this is the exact same maxi dress I wore back in September for my first event during London Fashion Week.

The idea of transforming the dress into a skirt came to me sporadically as I searched my closet for new pieces to add to my Poshmark closet. The idea is so simple and easy yet it took me this long to think of.

Start by holding the maxi dress at the middle, folding the top half (sleeves included) inside the dress. Once the top half is evenly tucked inside, grab a hold of both sides and wrap the now skirt around your waist. Because I am a bit shorter and it is a maxi, I preferred the high-waisted look. Grab a hold of the button placed right at the middle and secure the closure. As easy as that!

Working with a maxi dress without buttons shouldn’t stop you, simply worry about tucking the top half inside and slip right into it by securing it with a statement belt. For a visual demonstration, see a video tutorial I recently shared on my Instagram.

XO,

Drea

Photography by Nathalia Mahecha

Leave a comment