Dusty Rose | A Valentine’s Day Makeup Look

Valentine's Day Makeup Tutorial

With Valentine’s Day right around the corner, the lovey dovey holiday sparked some inspiration on a subtle, feminine makeup look with hints of rose, pink, and gold. A simple look that can easily be recreated and taken from day to night.

Valentine's Day Inspired Makeup Look

the-eyes

Let’s begin by neutralizing the eyes, grabbing your go-to matte eyeshadow that’s closest to your skin color. In my case, I applied MAC’s ‘Brule’ all over my eyelid and up to the brow bone. Now we want to add a little warmth and define the crease by applying a transitional shade on the crease (only), using a blending brushThis will also help all other shadows blend nicely together. In the outer-v, use a subtle matte pink eyeshadow with the same blending brush applying it softly. Pack on more color as necessary. With a crease brush, apply a dark brown eyeshadow on the outer-v to define, deepen, and smoke out the look a bit. To finalize the eyes with a pop of sparkle, apply a shimmery champagne shadow right on the lid but leaving the outer-v alone.

Drag some of the dark brown eyeshadow you used to smoke out the outer-v onto your bottom lash line. Personally, I feel naked if I skip this step. For a daytime look, simply curl the lashes and pack on the mascara. To transition from day to night, create a cat eye using your favorite liquid liner OR you could rock the liner (like I do) during the day as well! Your choice 😉

PRODUCTS USED

Eyeshadow: MAC Brule (lid) | Urban Decay Naked (crease) | Lorac Pro Palette 2 Nectar + Mocha (outer-v) | Lorac Pro Palette 2 Rosé (lid)

Brows: Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow Pomade | Mascara: Too Faced Better Than Sex  (waterproof) | Liner: Stila Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eye Liner

Valentine's Day Makeup Look Wearing Kat Von D Liquid Lipstick in Lolita

the-face

For a smooth canvas, use a pore minimizing primer and rub throughout your face. My personal favorite is the Benefit Porefessional as I find it fills in my pores without clogging them. Once that’s set, go ahead and begin with foundation, tinted moisturizer, powder foundation, bb cream, whatever your preference is. I’m still obsessing over the Covergirl Clean Matte BB Cream that I reviewed not long ago, in the shade ‘Light’. Using a brightening concealer, carefully apply under the eyes (if it messes with the shadow in the lower lashline, no biggie just reapply more later). Feel free to use your makeup application tools of choice, I personally love my Beautyblender and is what I mainly stick to everyday.

Dusty Rose Valentine's Day Makeup Tutorial

Next we want to set the face entirely with a powder and contour/bronze a bit to bring back definition to the face. My contour style is more on the “natural” side, mainly focusing on the hollows of my cheeks, sides of my nose, high points of my forehead, under the chin and dragging whatever is left onto my neck so it all blends nicely. I like to use a cool-tone bronzer to carve out my face first and a warmer colored bronzer to blend using a soft angled brush in circular motion.

To continue with our dusty rose look, rosy cheeks are a definite must. You can’t go wrong with the NARS ‘Goulue’ blush but a great dupe is ‘Tea Rose’ by Milani. For that golden glow, highlight the top of your cheek bones, tip of the nose, and cupid’s bow. ‘Opal’ by Becca does it for me as it is perfect for day or night and is so pigmented not much is needed.

PRODUCTS USED

Benefit Porefessional primer | Covergirl Clean Matte BB Cream |Garnier SkinActive Clearly Brighter concealer roller | L’Oreal True Match powder | NARS Goulue blush | Physicians Formula Butter Bronzer to contour | Too Faced Chocolate bronzer | BeccaOpal highlight

Valentine's Day Makeup Tutrorial

the-lips

To have one less thing to worry about for Valentine’s Day, I suggest wearing a long-lasting liquid lipstick or stain. Kat Von D’s Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in “Lolita” is perfect, with its deep rose and chestnut undertones. It is divine and a forever favorite. You can top off the lips with a little bit of lip balm as this helps keep your lips luscious and hydrated.

 With beauty playing a huge role in my everyday life, I love sharing looks I come up with. Let me know if you’d like to see more posts like these! Whatever your plans for Valentine’s Day may be, embrace it with sparkle and love.

Until next post!

XO,

Drea

2 thoughts on “Dusty Rose | A Valentine’s Day Makeup Look

Leave a comment